The Records Division is responsible for processing all applications for Carrying Concealed Weapons permits, permit to purchase handguns and the registration of all handguns for all Michigan residents.
If you would like to apply for a permit to purchase a handgun from a private party, you can go to any law enforcement agency in Michigan. You will need a valid Michigan Driver's License or a Michigan State I.D. with your current address to apply.
If you are buying a handgun from an authorized dealer, then you do not need a purchase permit - you can go directly to the dealer. There is a $5.00 notary fee for notary services applied to gun permits.
If you have already obtained your purchase permit and purchased your handgun you will need to make sure the MSP copy of the three part purchase permit is returned to the Kent County Sheriff's Office within 10 days from the date you purchased your handgun. You are no longer required to bring your handgun into the Sheriff's Office for a safety inspection. The handgun information will be entered into the computer based on the MSP copy of the purchase permit you have returned to the Sheriff's Office. Once we have entered the appropriate information, we will forward the MSP copy to their office.
Concealed Pistol License holders are required to use a Pistol Sales Record upon the purchase of their handgun. This form can be obtained from the Kent County Sheriff's Office or from www.michigan.gov website. (Type in 'pistol sales record' or 'RI-60' in the advanced search box.) These should be filled on the (3) part form and distributed as follows: Seller, Purchaser, and Michigan State Police. The Michigan State Police copy must be returned to the Kent County Sheriff's Office within 10 days from the date you purchased your handgun. You are no longer required to bring your handgun in to the Sheriff's Office for a safety inspection. The handgun information will be entered into the computer based on the MSP copy of the pistol sales record you have returned to the Sheriff's Office. Once we have entered the appropriate information we will forward the MSP copy to their office.
The process for obtaining a concealed pistol permit starts by obtaining an informational packet from any police department or at the Kent County Clerks Office, 300 Monroe, Grand Rapids, Michigan. Read over the instructions carefully to make sure you have completed the necessary paperwork. Once the necessary documents have been completed, your first stop will be at the Kent County Clerks Office.
The Records clerk assigned to CPL permits will then start a very thorough background check. After the background check is completed the CPL packet will be forwarded to the Gun Board for approval. This entire process can take several months to complete.
There are a number of restrictions and rules for those being approved to carry a concealed weapon. A gun safety course must be completed and renewal of this permit is every five years. There is additional information regarding carrying a concealed weapon on the Michigan State Police website. Click on "Quick Links" for frequently asked questions or other links related to a CPL permit holder.
701 Ball Avenue NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm
Lawrence A. Stelma
703 Ball Avenue NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503