BOARD CHAIR Mandy Bolter

BOARD VICE CHAIR Stan Stek

BOARD MINORITY VICE CHAIR Jim Talen

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Finance: Diane Jones

Legislative: Stan Stek

MEMBERS Tom Antor Emily P. Brieve David Bulkowski Carol Hennessy Matt Kallman Betsy Melton Roger Morgan Stan Ponstein Phil Skaggs Monica Sparks Lindsey Thiel Ted Vonk

Harold Voorhees

Contact: Lori Latham

PH: (616) 401-1743 (mobile)

Robert Womack Stephen Wooden EM: <u>lori.latham@kentcountymi.gov</u>



BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

300 Monroe Avenue N.W. Grand Rapids, Michigan 49503 Office (616) 632-7580 Fax (616) 632-7560 www.accessKent.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Jan. 6, 2020

Statement from Board Chair Mandy Bolter, Vice-Chair Stan Stek, and Minority Vice-Chair Phil Skaggs on behalf of the Kent County Board of Commissioners Denouncing the Destruction and Violence Occurring at the U.S. Capitol

We strongly condemn the violence and destruction that occurred today at the U.S. Capitol during the Electoral College certification.

A cornerstone of our democracy is the peaceful transfer of power. While peaceful protests are the right of every American, this attack was an insult to these principles and an assault on democracy. Violence has no place in our democratic process, and it is incumbent upon all of us to condemn these unpatriotic actions.

Now, more than ever, it is time for civil discourse and for us to unite as Americans.

Please pray for our leaders, law enforcement and our nation.

###