BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' OFFICE

COUNTY KENT 41 MCHIGAN

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 5, 2021

NEWS RELEASE

Contact: Lori Latham PH: (616) 401-1743 (mobile) EM: <u>lori.latham@kentcountymi.gov</u>

Kent County Board of Commissioners Selects New Leadership and Welcomes Four New Commissioners

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. (Jan. 5, 2021) — Earlier today, the Kent County Board of Commissioners unanimously selected Mandy Bolter (District 5) as Chair and Stan Stek (District 6) as Vice-Chair of the Board of Commissioners for the 2021-2022 term. In his role as Vice-Chair, Commissioner Stek will also serve as Chair of the Legislative and Human Services Committee.

Commissioner Bolter is serving her third term as Board Chair. She was first appointed to the Board in 2014 and was elected to her first full term later that same year.

During her remarks at the Board's organizational meeting, Chair Bolter highlighted the Board's collaborative approach in addressing the needs of the community. Specifically, she praised the Board's work in distributing the <u>CARES Act funding</u> to help the economic recovery of our community and the critical health response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

"Our collaborative approach as a Board and with our community partners is paramount as we continue to navigate through these uncertain times," said Chair Bolter. "I am honored to serve as the Board Chair for another term and I look forward to working with my fellow commissioners to continue supporting our community through the pandemic and the COVID-19 vaccination process while maintaining critical services to residents."

The Board leadership team also includes:

- Commissioner Diane Jones (District 4), Chair, Finance and Physical Resources Committee
- Commissioner Phil Skaggs (District 19), Minority Vice-Chair and Vice-Chair of the Legislative and Human Resources Committee

Four newly elected board members - Ben Greene (District 1), Dan Burrill (District 8), Michelle McCloud (District 13) and Melissa LaGrand (District 15) - officially joined the Kent County Board of Commissioners by ceremonially accepting the Oath of Office by Kent County Clerk and Register of Deeds Lisa Posthumus Lyons.

-MORE-

COUNTY KENT

Also, the Board approved appointments for various committees, subcommittees, and boards. A complete list of these appointments is located on the County's <u>website</u>.

"We are eager to get back to work and build upon our efforts of 2020," concluded Chair Bolter.

###